Philosophy of Governance, IMDR

Philosophy of Governance

The founders of the Deccan education Society were in many ways the founders of Indian democracy. The principle of local autonomy and central direction is the pivot of management in the institutions run by the Society.

The management structure of the institute is as under, in ascending order of the level of management :

This committee consists of all the full time faculty members including the Director, the Librarian and representative of the administrative staff. The chairmanship of the meeting is held by rotation by one of the members and the secretary is usually the junior most faculty member. The chairmanship is rotated every academic year. The main responsibilities of this committee are :

  To handle the day-to-day issues of academic and student interface matters.
  To approve new academic initiatives of the institute.
  To propose changes in strategic directions of the institute, especially in academic matters.
  Peer assessment of faculty
  Any other matter that may be of concern to any member

All the bodies of the society provide for concurrent overlapping membership, so that context of an issue discussed at a lower level is available at the next level.

The local management committee consists of a representatives of management of the society, Life member Accountant, Representative of the Poona Board of Life members, Representative of the teaching and the non-teaching staff and the Director of the institute. The committee is appointed by the Governing Body of the Society with the representatives of the teaching and non-teaching staff elected among the staff of the institute. The LMC is the body for initiating any management policy.

The main responsibilities of the LMC:

To submit for approval of the GB all budget and financial matters pertaining to the institute.
To propose changes in fees, etc.
To propose increments, promotions or new appointments
To propose contractual arrangement for running facilities like canteen, parking etc
To approve and sanction administrative decisions taken by the Director and Staff, in view of the urgency and exigencies, that have significant financial implications.

Members of the Local Management Committee

Mr. Mahesh A. Athavale (Chairman)
Mr. S.N. Kanetkar, Secretary, DES
Dr. Smt. Savita Kelkar
Dr. S P Khedkar, LM Accountant
Shri R U Nimbalkar
Shri. Adesh Gokhale
Dr. Mohan S. Swami
Dr. Shikha Jain (Director, Secretary)
Shri Sanjay Mankikar
Dr. Abhijeet Shivane (Faculty Representative)
Smt. Prajakta Pradhan
Smt. Neeti Karanjkar (Staff Representative)

The byelaws of the society provide local boards of life members, wherever the society has significant operations. Currently, the local boards are in Pune, Sangli and Mumbai.
The membership of this committee is restricted to teachers who have been elected to be life members. All decisions of the Local Management Committee that need to pass to the Governing Body are vetted by this committee. It meets once every week. The decisions of the local management committee are put up by the Life Member Accountant or the Head of Institution (if s/he is a Life member) and the representative of the Life member board (who are members of the LMC).

Members of the Pune Board of Life Members

Dr. Shrikrishna N. Kanetkar
Principal Dr. Ravindrasing G. Pardeshi
Ms. Swati C. Joglekar
Dr. (Smt.) Savita V. Kelkar
Dr.Sachin P. Khedkar
Mr. Dhananjay A. Kulkarni
Dr. Vinaykumar V. Acharya
Mr. Nagesh S. Mone
Dr. Jagdish R. Lanjekar
Dr. Anand V. Katikar

The GB membership consists of elected members from among the fellows of the Society and representatives of the life members by turn, in equal numbers. The Byelaws provide that the GB would consist of equal number of Life members and elected members. The chairman of the GB is an elected member. The Secretary of the GB is the Secretary of the Society and the Assistant Secretary are life members. The GB is the final decision making body for all the institutions of the society. All matters that have financial and or long-term implication are approved by the GB. All new courses, increase in fees, matters relating to employees and statutory bodies is responsibility of the GB.
The details of the management are given the byelaws of the society.
Some of the members of the LMC are also members of the PB and GB and these members are expected to spearhead proposal through in the respective bodies

Members of the Governing Body

Dr. Sharad Srikrishna Kunte, Chairman
Mr. V. R. Kakatkar, Vice-Chairman
Dr. Shrikrishna N. Kanetkar, Secretary DES
Mr. K. D. Shaligram
Mr. M. A. Athavale
Mr. R. U. Nimbalkar
Dr. R. G. Paradeshi
Dr. S. P. Khedkar, Secretary GB
Mr. D. A. Kulkarni, Assistant Secretary

All the bodies of the society provide for concurrent overlapping membership, so that context of an issue discussed at a lower level is available at the next level.

Members of the Advisory Committee

Dr. Anant Sardeshmukh, Director General MCCIA
Mr. Deepak Karandikar, Director Praditi Press Parts Pvt. Ltd
Dr. Capt. Chandrashekhar Chitale-Noted Academician
Dr. Philip Coelho-Noted Academician
Dr. Vasant Bang- Noted Academician
Mr. Vivek Kele, Director, Teamglobal Logistics Pvt. Ltd
Mr. Nitin Pangam, Managing Director, Maeflower Consulting
Mr. Mahesh Athavle-Chairman Local Management Committee-
Dr. Shikha Jain- Director

The Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) receives and redresses complaints related to sexual harassment on IMDR campus. The committee for the academic year 2018-19 is as follows:

1. Presiding Officer – Dr. Giribala Dewasthale
2. Faculty Member – Prof. Parikshit Mahankal
3. Non-teaching Member – Ms.Neeti Karanjikar
4. Non-teaching Member – Mr. Pranil Budhihal
5. External Member – Mrs.Arti Pendse
6. Student Member: Trupti Pardhi (PGDM2)
7. Student Member: Harmeet Chhabra (PGDM2)
8. Student Member: Tasneem Hussain (PGDM1)
9. Student Member: Varad Ingle (PGDM1)

(Visited 809 times, 1 visits today)